Woodlawn Support Staff

Crystal Abbe

Family Engagement Facilitator-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8424 | E: crystal.abbe@dmschools.org

Biography

Family engagement includes all of the ways we, as staff and as families with preschoolers, work and play together in preparing children for success in school and life. I am here to support family, staff and classroom activities--meeting needs and providing information, comfort and opportunities.  I have degrees in child-development and social work, and have worked in early childhood for more than 30 years. My husband and I have three children who are now young adults. My favorite times in life are when we are all together. Contact me in Woodlawn's Twinkle Star Community Room, by email or by phone.

Michelle Ash

Behavior Support Teacher-McKee and Woodlawn

P: 515-323-8655 | E: michelle.ash@dmschools.org

Joanna Braucht

Speech Associate-McKee and Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8434 or 242-8213 | E: joanna.braucht@dmschools.org

Biography

I am a Speech-Language Pathology Associate at Woodlawn and McKee Education Centers. I just received my Bachelor's in Communication Disorders and Sciences from Utah State University. Next, I am headed to graduate school to get my Master's in Speech-Language Pathology. I have two children, Eden who is 4, and Sawyer who is 1 year. I enjoy cooking, gardening, and spending time with my friends and family.

Cheryl Cameron

Early Childhood Nurse-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: cheryl.cameron@dmschools.org

Laura Corkrean

Early Childhood Social Worker-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-7783 | E: laura.corkrean@dmschools.org

Denise Etter

Custodian-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: denise.etter@dmschools.org

Alma Haines

Head Start Spanish Interpreter-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7975 | E: alma.haines@dmschools.org

Debra Huffman

ECSE Interventionist

P: 515-242-8213 | E: debra.huffman@dmschools.org

Meghan Kobes

Speech-Language Pathologist-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: meghan.kobes@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Meghan Kobes. I am the speech language pathologist at Woodlawn. I am a graduate of the University of Iowa and received my Master's degree from Marquette University. I have been working as an SLP since 2009 and have been with Des Moines Public Schools since 2010. As a speech language pathologist, I have the opportunity to work with many children and their families. I enjoy working with preschoolers as they begin a new adventure in their lives. I have 4 year-old twins who keep my husband and I busy. We enjoy outdoor activities and cheering on the Hawkeyes and Cubs! I am excited for a terrific year ahead!

Donna Kunkel

Speech Associate-Mitchell and Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8424 | E: donna.kunkel@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Donna Kunkel, and I am the associate in your child's classroom. I have been employed at Mitchell since 2015 and with the Des Moines Public Schools since 2012. My education includes a BA from both UNI and Upper Iowa University. I have two children of my own, and enjoy working with youth at the YMCA. I love helping kids learn and watching them have fun!

Erin Loy

ECSE Social Worker

P: 515-242-8213 | E: erin.loy@dmschools.org

Biography

Hi, my name is Erin Loy. I have a Bachelor's degree from Northern Iowa and my Master's degree from St. Ambrose University. I have been in the social work field since 2002 and this is my first year with Des Moines Public Schools. I am working at both Woodlawn and Smouse. I love working with the early childhood age and seeing them learn and grow. I am married with 2 young children at home. In my free time I enjoy watching the Hawkeyes and like to spend time with my family. I am very excited to be here and am looking forward to a great and successful year with your children.

Alison Mason

Early Childhood Enrollment-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7588 | E: alison.mason@dmschools.org

Pam Nielsen

Office Manager-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: pamela.nielsen@dmschools.org

Beth Pattschull

ECSE Consultant-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: beth.pattschull@dmschools.org

Biography

Hi, my name is Beth Pattschull and I am one of the Early Childhood Special Education consultants. I have been working in Early Childhood Special Education with Des Moines Public schools since 2002. I enjoy working with this age group and seeing the excitement that learning brings each day. I feel passionate about providing children with experiences to build the foundation for later school success. I am married with two children.

Janet Riggle

Early Childhood Enrollment-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7588 | E: janet.riggle@dmschools.org

Melissa Sambu

Instructional Coach-Taylor and Woodlawn

P: 515-323-8667 or 515-242-8213 | E: melissa.sambu@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Melissa Sambu and I am an Instructional Coach for Early Childhood. I have worked for Des Moines Public Schools for 9 years. During that time, I have taught preschool, been a Literacy Coach, and an Instructional Coach. Prior to coming to Des Moines, I taught kindergarten for 2 years. I look forward to working with teachers, children, and families to make it a great and successful year!

Ann Stewart

Office Manager-Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8213 | E: ann.stewart@dmschools.org