Head Start Policy Committee

New Policy Committee Chairperson Monica Berenguel

New Policy Committee Chairperson Monica Berenguel

Des Moines Public Schools has 19 Head Start classrooms; the parents in each of these classrooms elect representatives to serve on Policy Committee. We had our first Policy Committee meeting of the school year on September 16th; over 30 people attended!  Policy Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month, from 9:00-11:00 am, at River Place, 2309 Euclid Avenue. This is an open meeting, all Head Start parents and members of the community are invited to attend.

In October, the committee elected a new board for the year, Chair: Monica Berenguel, Co-Chair: Marisol Munoz, Secretary: Whitney Vogel and Assistant Secretary: Isabel Marquez.

Since its start in 1965, Head Start has recognized the value of including parents as full partners in making decisions that concern them, their children, and the program. The practice of shared decision making gives a voice to all concerned.

Published on