Mitchell Support Staff

Sundhild Barrett

ECSE Consultant-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: sundhild.barrett@dmschools.org

Biography

Hi, my name is Sundhild Barrett. I have been working in the Early Childhood field since 1979. I have been with DMPS since 1992 as a Head Start teacher, ECSE teacher, and now as an ECSE consultant. I work with classrooms at Mitchell and Smouse.

I am married (husband is Larry) and have two children (Tara and Trevor) and four grandchildren, all five years old or younger (Evey, Noah, Lily, Nadia). They keep me very busy, but I love it. I am trying to learn sign language as one of my granddaughters is deaf. I like to crochet, work in the yard and garden, cook, sew, play the piano, and read. My favorite type of vacation is to go to beautiful places and hike.

Tracey Campo-Westergaard

Early Childhood Social Worker-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: tracey.campo-westergaard@dmschools.org

Biography

I have a Bachelor's and a Master's degree in Social Work from the University of Iowa. I love the Hawkeyes! I have been a School Social Worker for approximately 20 years, working in Volusia County, Florida and Des Moines Public Schools. My focus is supporting the social, emotional, and behavioral needs of students, as well as supporting various needs of our families and school staff. I enjoy teaching social skills individually or in small groups. I have served elementary-age and pre-school children for most of my career. I am so excited to be working with pre-school, as I believe you will always be happy around 3 to 5 year olds!

Jennifer Coffey

Speech-Language Pathologist-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: jennifer.coffey@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Jennifer Coffey. I received my undergraduate degree from the University of Northern Iowa and my master's degree from Truman State University. I have worked as a speech-language pathologist for DMPS since 1999, serving students in preschool through middle school. I really enjoy working at an early learning center. Preschoolers are so excited to be at school and eager to learn. I am married and have two daughters. I enjoy watching my girls participate in activities and sports, being with my friends and family, traveling and exercising.

Rickelle Curtis

ECSE Social Worker- Mitchell and Smouse

P: 515-242-8424 | E: rickelle.curtis@dmschools.org

Jennifer Dockter-Lago

Speech and Language Pathologist-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: jennifer.dockterlago@dmschools.org

Alma Haines

Head Start Spanish Interpreter-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7975 | E: alma.haines@dmschools.org

Terry Joss

Evening custodian-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: terry.joss@dmschools.org

Donna Kunkel

Speech Associate-Mitchell and Woodlawn

P: 515-242-8424 | E: donna.kunkel@dmschools.org

Biography

My name is Donna Kunkel, and I am the associate in your child's classroom. I have been employed at Mitchell since 2015 and with the Des Moines Public Schools since 2012. My education includes a BA from both UNI and Upper Iowa University. I have two children of my own, and enjoy working with youth at the YMCA. I love helping kids learn and watching them have fun!

Alison Mason

Early Childhood Enrollment-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7588 | E: alison.mason@dmschools.org

Jana Morris

Behavior Support Teacher-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: jana.morris@dmschools.org

Jessica Parsons

Instructional Coach-McKee and Mitchell

P: 515-242-8434 or 515-242-8424 | E: jessica.parsons.@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello. My name is Jessica Parsons (kids usually call me Ms. Jess). I am a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa and I am currently working on my master's degree through Iowa State University. This is my 12th year working in early childhood. I am an instructional coach and love working with preschool students and families. I hope you are eager for the wonderful experiences your child will have in preschool and for the growth you will see them make throughout the year. As an instructional coach I have the opportunity to visit many classrooms and meet many students and families. If you see me at your child's school please don't hesitate to say hello. I look forward to working with you this school year!

Janet Riggle

Early Childhood Enrollment-Welcome Center

P: 515-242-7588 | E: janet.riggle@dmschools.org

Amber Slagter

Office Manager-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: amber.slagter@dmschools.org

Jim Thomas

Custodian-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: james.thomas@dmschools.org

Kristen Warming

Head Start Family Engagement Facilitator

P: 515-242-8424 | E: kristen.warming@dmschools.org

Laurie Wirtz

Early Childhood Nurse-Mitchell

P: 515-242-8424 | E: laurie.wirtz@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids with my Bachelor of Science in Nursing, and Des Moines University with my Master in Public Health. I have worked in pediatric nursing for 31 years. My experiences include the University of Iowa, Blank Neonatal Intensive Care, and Des Moines Public Schools. My husband and I have three daughters, 2 sons-in-law, and a new granddaughter. I treasure every minute I can spend with my family. I also enjoy running, water skiing, reading, and gardening. I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with the children and families in the DMPS Early Childhood Programs.